Board of Trustees

Dr. P. Rama Rao

Recipient of “Padma Vibhushan” awarded by the Govt of India, Dr Rama Rao is the President of the Foundation. He held several top posts such as Chairman of Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), Mumbai, Secretary to the Govt of India in the Dept of Science and Technology (DST), and Dept of Ocean Development (DOD), New Delhi, Vice Chancellor, Central University of Hyderabad (UoH) and Director, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad. He served as the President of several professional bodies in science and engineering in the country. He is presently the Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Advanced Research Centre International (ARCI), Hyderabad, Chairman of the Councils of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research and Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He is a member of the Atomic Energy Commission, Govt of India and is a Fellow of several reputed national and international societies and bodies – FNAE, FNA, FASc., FNASc., Foreign Associate of NAE(US), FREngg(UK) and FTWAS.

Dr. S. Ranganathan

Distinguished Fellow & NASI Platinum Jubilee Senior Scientist, is associated with the Dept of Materials Engg, Indian Institute of Science & National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore. He has made internationally acclaimed contributions in the fields of Field Ion Microscopy, nanostructured materials, quasicrystals and bulk metallic glasses which have won him several awards. He held the posts Chairman of the Mechanical Sciences Division of Indian Institute of Science, and President of the Indian Institute of Metals, Kolkata. He is a Fellow of IASc, INSA, INAE and TWAS.

Dr. V.V. Kutumbarao

Secretary of TRAERF, has been associated with engineering education and research for over four decades as Head of the Dept of Met. Engg, BHU, as Director of the Jawaharlal Nehru Aluminium RD&D Centre, Nagpur and as Pro-Vice Chancellor of Gitam University, Visakhapatnam. He has gained recognition for his contributions to the study of high temperature mechanical behaviour of materials and as an able academic and research administrator. He is a Fellow of INAE, IIM and IE(I).

Dr. Guntupalli Malakondaiah

Treasurer of TRAERF, is a reputed researcher with many original contributions to his credit. He has held the posts of Director of the Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory, Hyderabad, and the Chief Controller of R&D for Materials at DRDO HQs., New Delhi. He is a Fellow of INAE.

Dr. Kamanio Chattopadhyay

is an outstanding researcher of international repute. He was formerly the Chairman of the Department of Materials Engineering and Chairman of the Mechanical Sciences Division at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He is intimately connected with some of the space research programmes. He has won several awards. He is a Fellow of IASc, INSA and INAE.

Dr. G Sundararajan

Director, International Advanced Research Centre for Powder Metallurgy and New Materials (ARCI), Hyderabad since 1997 was previously at DMRL during 1982-97. He has made notable contributions in the areas of tribological behaviour of several materials. As Director At ARCI, , he has made wide ranging contributions to the development, demonstration and commercialization of materials-based technologies. Winner of several awards, he is a Fellow of IASc, INSA, INAE & ASM.

Dr. K. Bhanu Sankara Rao

Steel Chair Professor at Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Technology, Hyderabad was associated with IGCAR, Kalpakkam for 32 years, where he provided excellent R&D support in metallurgy for the development of Fast Breeder Reactor Technologies in India. Winner of several awards, he has been editor of International Materials Reviews (1995-2008), Energy Materials (since 2004) and Chief Editor of Transactions of The Indian Institute of Metals (since 2004). He is a Fellow of ASM, INAE, IASc and IIM.

Persons Helping

In addition to the Trustees, the following persons have been working voluntarily for the advancement of the objectives of the foundation:

Dr. N. Eswara Prasad
Director, Defence Materials Stores
R&D Establishment(DMSRDE)

Dr. Partha Ghosal
Head, Electron Microscopy Group & OSD to Director
Defence Metallurgical Research lab.(DMRL)

Prof. J Viplava Kumar
Dean R&D
Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Technology (MGIT)

Shri T. P. Rao
Office Manager
Centre for Knowledge Management in Nanoscience
and Technology(CKMNT)


Copyright © 2016 All rights are reserved | Edited by: Dr V V Kutumbarao | Designed by GRIET WEBMASTER